Resign a calling

I am really conflicted about this. Is it okay to ask to resign a calling? With my current calling I often feel as if I am not performing as well as I should, and am not magnifying my calling. With any calling there are times when you may not perform at your best,but as the Ward clerk if I am no doing so I hurt the entire ward. I have received many wonderful blessing from being the clerk,but I constantly feel, it seems, that I am just not performing my calling as well as I should. I’ve prayed and continue to pray for help in this regard,but at times in the middle of the night I fear I am just not doing the job.

2 Responses to “Resign a calling”

  1. loriking Says:

    In my callings, and I’m thinking of one in particular, I was NOT called to that position because of what I could bring to it. I did my best, but I wasn’t quite prepared for what I was to do, and so my performance was lacking. However, the experience gave me a better understanding of the love Heavenly Father asks of us. It gave me blessings I can’t begin to count and put me in the path of people I would not, because of my personality, or time, or whatever, have been able to work with. So maybe rather than focusing on your calling, maybe you should ask, “What am I learning from this?”

    Most of the time, our callings are for us to have a chance to serve. However, our Heavenly Father knows us and loves us individually, so sometimes our callings are all about the individual with the calling.

  2. sevendarks Says:

    Oh I agree, I just feel bad because the Whole ward suffers at my failing :(. But I guess I shall endure and hope and pray for the best

Leave a Reply

